His Excellency Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera

Malawi is a Republic and gained independence from Britain on July 6, 1964, and became a multiparty democracy in 1993. The Government of the Republic of Malawi is made up of three arms: The Executive, The Legislative and The Judiciary.

The Executive: The President heads the Executive arm of Government. The President is the Head of State, Head of Government, and the Commander-in-Chief of the Malawi Defence Force.

The Malawi Cabinet



His Excellency Dr. Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera 

President of the Republic of Malawi, Commander-in-Chief of the Malawi  Defence Force

Right Honourable Dr. Saulos Klaus  Chilima 

Vice President of the Republic of Malawi

Hon. Sosten Gwengwe, MP

Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs

Hon. Nancy Tembo, MP

Minister of Foreign Affairs

Hon. Sam Kawale, MP

Minister of Agriculture

Hon. Michael Usi

Minister of Natural Resources and Climate Change

Hon. Richard Chimwendo Banda, MP

Minister of Local Government, Unity, and Culture

Hon. Titus Mvalo

Minister of Justice

Hon. Dr. Ken Zikhale Ng’oma, MP

Minister of Homeland Security

Hon. Khumbize Kandodo Chiponda, MP

Minister of Health

Hon. Simplex Chithyola, MP

Minister of Trade and Industry

Hon. Uchizi Mkandawire, MP

Minister of Youth and Sports

Hon. Madalitso Wirima Kambauwa, MP

Minister of Education

Hon. Jacob Hara, MP

Minister of Transport and Public Works

Hon. Monica Chang’anamuno, MP

Minister of Mining

Hon. Vera Kamtukule

Minister of Tourism

Hon. Jean Muonaowauza Sendeza. MP 

Minister of Gender

Hon. Agnes Makonda Nyalonje

Minister of Labour

Hon. Harry Mkandawire

Minister of Defence

Hon. Abida Mia, MP

Minister of Water and Sanitation

Hon. Ibrahim Matola

Minister of Energy

Hon. Deus Gumba, MP

Minister of Lands

Hon. Moses Kumkuyu

Minister of Information

Malawi Deputy Ministers



Hon. Owen  Chomanika, MP

Deputy Minister of Local Government, Unity, and Culture

Hon. Halima Alima Daud, MP

Deputy Minister of Health

Hon. Nancy Chaola Mdooko, MP

Deputy Minister of Education

Hon. Liana Kakhobwe Chapota,  MP

Deputy Minister of Water and Sanitation

Official Address

Official Address

Malawi Government 
Office of the President and Cabinet
Private Bag 301,
Capital City,
Lilongwe 3, Malawi

Foreign Affairs Address

Foreign Affairs Address

Ministry of Foreign Affairs
P.O. Box 30315,
Capital City
Lilongwe 3, Malawi

The Legislature

The Legislature

The Legislative arm of Government is the Parliament of Malawi. Parliament is presided by the Speaker of the House and in his absence the Deputy Speaker both of who are elected by Members of Parliament. Parliament consists of 193 members when fully constituted.

For more details, please visit the website for the Malawi Parliament on

The Judiciary

The Judiciary

The Judiciary is the third arm of Government vested with judicial authority and is independent. the Lord Chief Justice heads the Judiciary and is deputized by the Deputy Chief Justice.

For more information on the Judiciary visit